Thoughts and Prayers-Empty Promises or CTA?

We have all heard the phrase that begins with keeping you, you are, or something similar, and ending with, in our or my/the countries, thoughts, and prayers. It is always expressed after a tragedy, normally a mass shooting. These aren’t sentiments you would expect to hear in regards to a festive occasion. The one thing that should be understood is that both of these words urge a call to action(CTA)

After another one of our favorite actors, artist, or “icon” dies or is gone too soon, we offer our obligatory thoughts and prayers and other empty promises! This isn’t judgment, this is us. In our own lives sentiments such as I’m just a phone call away, or if you need me I’ll be there, are often treated no different than thoughts and prayers, and all too frequently fall flat.

Have you ever heard of Semantic satiation? It is the phenomenon in which a word or phrase is repeated with such frequency, that the meaning gets lost. “Thoughts and prayers” is that to the fullest. After every mass shooting, you can almost expect the term to immediately become a trend on every social media platform. The commonality between the two words thoughts and prayers is that both are words that should muster an action.

“You’re in my thoughts and prayers” is a sentiment that some people take to heart, while others respond with sarcasm. I’m not here to try to defend either side. I can’t say which is heartfelt or a trained response. At times it appears to be a passive attempt to overlook real problems. Not only has there been no major gun-control legislation, but more states also loosened gun-buying restrictions than tightened them.

Recently Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo, tweeted, “Sending thoughts and prayers” when retweeting The National Rifle Association’s announcement regarding the cancellation of their annual meeting due to COVID. On Twitter, the tweet garnered more than 400 comments, almost 800 retweets, and over 4,000 likes. This highlights how the gesture has been reduced to nothing more than empty promises and a mocking gesture.

This country is crumbling in real-time because many of us (Christians too) don’t feel the need to pray. I don’t know the reason, but I can speculate that it’s due to a lack of time or a lack of faith. One of my favorite Bible verses comes from 2 Chronicles 7:14 and I remind myself of it daily. “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” I’m not proposing to you that God is a Genie going to and fro granting wishes. I am suggesting that based on this Bible verse, your prayers require actions, nowhere does it indicate that prayer is the end.

I challenge you, the next time you speak/type the phrase “thoughts and Prayers” pray first. If you are in the presence of that person for whom those thoughts and prayers are intended, then pray with them. If you are texting that person, text a prayer. If you speaking with that person on the phone, pray with them. That is how you turn empty promise’s into powerful prayers. It’s no secret that this country suffers from a heart problem, and when hearts begin to heal, then hate can be defeated. You might think thoughts and prayers can’t end hunger, or stop gun violence, but I am convinced that when hearts begin to heal, marriages begin to mend, gun violence decreases. It is at that point we begin seeing others and their needs, not their differences.

When we actively pray “thoughts and prayers” invoke an action, not apathy. Finally, if you are reading this post the next time you feel compelled to offer up thoughts and prayers, do the heavy lifting, and think, pray and then act! I dare you! Repeatedly saying thoughts and prayers is a direct result of repeated mass shootings. The reason the act of mass shootings is a reoccurring theme is that beyond those thoughts and prayers nothing else is being done. As always this is my truth and nothin but!

Your thoughts? What does the phrase thoughts and prayers mean to you? Drop a comment and let’s speak on it. Thoughts and prayers, empty promises, or a call to action? Which will you choose?

If you enjoyed this post then like, follow, share and leave a comment. Follow my social media pages, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Linkedln. Email me @ d1va5339@gmail.com (guest post welcome) #rockingchairrants #mytruthandnothinbut

#thoughtsandprayers #rockingchairrants #mytruthandnothinbut

By d1va5339

Hi, My name is Lorren I'm 60 years old and new to blogging! I’m passionate about people. My blog is to bring awareness as well as engage in healthy conversations on subjects that sometimes may not be so comfortable. I intend to be a voice for those who often have no voice, To be an outlet or conduit, to say it as You mean it! I launched this site in February 2021 as a direct response to what is currently happening in society and around the world and my frustration with witnessing constant injustices. So if you feel disenfranchised, or voiceless then you’ll feel at home here. It is here where my opinion doesn’t have to match yours, this Is my truth not necessarily yours. This isn’t a blog to stifle your voice but to amplify it. You can expect topics about current events, culture, grandparenting, blogs that make you think, laugh, and sometimes even cry! Topics that hopefully, uplift, inspire, and encourage you. I have a background in communications and combined with my experiences and life lessons not to mention a pandemic that affords me the time, a Blog was born. Born and raised in Pittsburgh Pa I grew up a St

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started